#30thAnniversary – Yo-Yo ‎”Make Way For The Motherlode”

Yo-Yo, “the brand new intelligent black woman”, really came out strong on her first album with a reflective vision of a new womanism movement amongst black women. Her lyrics was heading heavily in that direction as well as dealing with the everyday life of South Central, L.A. The production was handled by Ice Cube, Sir Jinx and Del Tha Funkee Homosapien. It’s a massive sonic collage of both West Coast and East Coast influences that are somehow sharing many similarities with the Bomb Squad team (with whom Ice Cube was working with at that moment). The whole project offered something that was rare in the mainstream Hip-Hop world of that time, a strong streetwise voice calling for women empowerment.

Full album on YouTube:

Stream on Spotify, Apple Music, Deezer and Tidal.

Playlist with the videos:

  • You Can’t Play With My Yo-Yo
  • Stompin’ to tha 90’s
  • Ain’t Nobody Better

Playlist with Remixes and B-side:

  • Stompin’ To Tha 90’s (Jinx Mix)
  • Dope Feminity
  • Ain’t Nobody Better (Remix)
  • You Can’t Play With My Yo-Yo (Real Remix)
  • You Can’t Play With My Yo-Yo (Hip Hop Remix)
  • Girl Don’t Be No Fool (Remix)



The RawSoul & Mr Dan

Discover more from Brooklyn Radio

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading