#30thAnniversary – Warren G “Regulate… G Funk Era”

“Regulate… G Funk Era” is the debut studio album by Warren G, released on June 7, 1994, by Violator Records and distributed by Rush Associated Labels. Even if he’s Dr. Dre’s stepbrother, Warren G chose to carve his own path, departing from the dominant Death Row Records to seek a deal with East Coast backing. This decision proved successful, as the album went triple platinum, putting Def Jam’s back on track during a time of financial uncertainty.

The album’s standout single, “Regulate” featuring Nate Dogg, that samples Michael McDonald’s “I Keep Forgettin’ (Every Time You’re Near)“, previously appeared on the classic “Above The Rim” soundtrack a couple of months earlier. It narrates a straightforward tale of surviving a gang confrontation and celebrating afterward, blending hard-hitting lyrics with smooth, crossover appeal. Nate Dogg’s contribution was pivotal, establishing him as the master of hook in Hip Hop until his death in 2011.

Warren G might not be the greatest rapper, but his talent shines through his G-funk production, evident in tracks like “Do You See” and “This D.J.”, capturing the essence of the mid-’90s Cali vibe. You can enjoy all that and more below by listening to the album and remixes, watching the videos, live performances and interviews, and also digging into the samples on www.whosampled.com.

Album on YouTube with Videos:

Stream on Spotify & Apple Music.

Remixes, Live Performances & Interviews:

  • Regulate (Jamming Mix)
  • Regulate (Remix Version)
  • This D.J. (Remix Version)
  • This D.J. (Dobie’s Rub Part 1)
  • So Many Ways (Bad Boys Version)
  • Do You See (Stepz Remix)
  • Do You See (Old School Remix)

Discover more from Brooklyn Radio

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading