Oonops Drops – California Soul

Start listening

This episode is peppered with funk, soul and a pinch of hip hop. Oonops is focussing on the mighty Ubiquity Records label from Cali and he opens the show with a brand new track of the upcoming album from The Mighty Sceptres. Later on in the show Nick Radford from The Mighty Sceptors drops a sweet 45s-soul-set. Expect some raw breaks from the recently discovered J.B.s testpressing, some sweet shaolin soul, warm retro afro-sounds, funky hip hop and a lot more! Enjoy this funk’n’soul special!”

DOWNLOAD Oonops Drops – California Soul

Visit here Oonops on www.mixcloud.com/oonops and www.facebook.com/DJOonops as well as The Mighty Sceptres here: www.facebook.com/themightysceptres

Tracklist: Oonops Drops – California Soul
01 The Mighty Sceptres – Intro
02 The Mighty Sceptres – Shy As A Butterfly
03 Shawn Lee – Hey Ya
04 Shawn Lee – Skit
05 Ikebe Shakedown – By Hook Or By Crook
06 The Sorcerers – The Terror
07 Monophonics – Like Yesterday
08 Baby Huey – Hard Times
09 Marilyn Barbarin & The Soul Finders – Reborn
10 Freedom – Get Up And Dance
11 Ohmega Watts – That Sound (The Quantic Soul Orchestra Remix)
12 Lefties Soul Connection – It’s Your Thing / Hey Pocky-A-Way
13 Red Rack’em – From Ng To Bk
14 Klaus Layer – Watching Fireflies
15 The RZA and Howard Drossin – Jack Knife
16 The Charmels – As Long As I’ve Got You
17 El Michel’s Affair featuring Lee Fields – By The Time I Get To Phoenix
18 Judson Moore – Everybody Push & Pull
19 The J.B.’s – The Grunt
20 The Gerald Wilson Orchestra – California Soul

21 Dee Clark – Hot Potato
22 The Invitations – Hallelujah
23 The Kingpins – In The Pocket
24 Soul Brothers Six – You Better Check Yourself
25 Carmen Taylor – You’re Putting Me On
26 The Five Keys – Me Make Um Pow Wow
27 Earl Wright – On The Road To Ruins (part II)
28 The Vibrations – Pick Me
39 Jackie Day – Before It’s Too Late
30 Jerry O – Funky Charge
31 Olympics – Looking For A love
32 Jackie Wilson – Do It The Right Way
33 Ted Taylor – Help The Bear
34 Jimmy (Soul) Clark – Do It Right Now
35 Tyrone Davis – Is It Something You’ve Got
36 The Third Guitar – Lovin’ Lies
37 Darrell Banks – The Love Of My Woman
38 The Delacardos – Got No One
39 Meditation Singers – Stand Up And Be Counted
40 The Impressions – Sometimes I Wonder
41 Glen Watts – Money Gives Dignity

Discover more from Brooklyn Radio

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading