Sad – Slow (feat Djemeia & Slum Village)

SLOW is not just the name of the latest release from the Bernese Soul/Hip Hop producer SAD, it’s also his music-making methodology and an all around life philosophy. It’s a way for the brother to enjoy the ride thoroughly – raising 3 kids, holding down a teaching job, and keeping his Souldogs band inspired and sharp, and the beats coming. SLOW is the only option for this brother, and it’s also his natural stride.

SLOW came about very organically through live improv sessions with the Souldogs crew. Originally the record was supposed to be a pure Soul effort – with only female vocals on it (Djemeia), but then the T3 and Young Rj from Slum Village heard it and jumped on board. The outcome is a record that will probably make Questlove shed some heavy tears reminiscing over his Nusoul agenda of the mid to late 90s.

SLOW is a record made for the mature Hip Hop / Soul listener. It was cut by a producer who came up in that 90s era, and who not only loves this sound, but also knows how to cook it down right. SLOW is a celebration of life and it’ll make you slow down a notch guaranteed.

It’s out on the 28th February on Mouthwatering Records and you can grab it from iTunes here or from Bandcamp here or stream it below:

1 Sad – The Light feat. Djemeia
2 Sad – Slow Part 1 feat Djemeia & Slum Village
3 Sad – Like We Are feat. Djemeia
4 Sad – Hold Me Down feat. Djemeia
5 Sad – Make My Day feat. Djemeia
6 Sad – Lonely People feat, Djemeia & Slum Village
7 Sad – Nothing Left To Say feat Djemeia & Slum Village
8 Sad – Nothing Left To Say (Reprise)
9 Sad – All Things Fade feat Djemeia & Slum Village
10 Sad – Coming For Your Soul feat. Djemeia
11 Sad Slow Part 2 – feat. Djemeia
12 Sad – They Say feat. Djemeia
13 Sad – Unfold feat. Djemeia & Slum Village

Discover more from Brooklyn Radio

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading