#30thAnniversary – Souls of Mischief “93 ’til Infinity”

Hailing from Oakland, California, the Souls Of Mischief dropped one of the most classic albums of the west coast underground Hip Hop scene. On “93 ’til Infinity”, A-Plus, Phesto, Opio and Tajai showcased intricate lyrics and creative rhyme patterns totally beyond their years for a bunch of teenagers. The production, coming from members of the group and the extended Hieroglyphics family (Domino, Casual & Del the Funky Homosapien), is influenced and on a similar level of what A Tribe Called Quest was doing at the time, with tons of soulful jazzy sample flips, far from the popular g-funk sound of the west coasts biggest artists. There is no real bad cut on that LP, only forgotten gems and one ABSOLUTE classic… The title track “93 ’til Infinity” might be the greatest Hip Hop song ever created. The mellow and spiritual beat from A-Plus combined with the seamless back & forth between the emcees create a harmony rarely achieved on wax, on the level of legendary tracks like T.R.O.Y. from Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth. Shivers guaranteed!

To relish this masterpiece again, we have compiled all the videos, remixes, b-side, some interviews and live performances and an incredible mix by Chris Read created for Wax Poetics 10 years ago to celebrate the 20th Anniversary. You can also dig in the samples via whosampled. Enjoy… ’til infinity!

Full album on YouTube:

Stream on Spotify & Apple Music.


  • 93 ’til Infinity
  • That’s When Ya Lost
  • Never No More

Souls of Mischief ’93 Til Infinity 20th Anniversary Mixtape mixed by Chris Read:

Remixes, B-Side, Instrumentals & Acapella:

  • 93 ‘Til Infinity (12″ Remix Version)
  • That’s When Ya Lost (I Ain’t Trippin’ Remix)
  • Make Your Mind Up (Rock on Mix)
  • Never No More (76 Seville Mix)
  • Good Feeling (12″ Version)

Interviews & Live Performances:

Discover more from Brooklyn Radio

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading