Recycled Funk Episode 9

Start listening

This latest episode of Recycled Funk was inspired by the hit Netflix show, “The Get Down”. I enjoyed the first season and am currently watching season no. 2. Something tells me you’re familiar with the show and like me, you’re appreciating the classic soundtrack it showcases. As a native NY’ker, Pro DJ whose grown up immersed in that culture, and is old enough to remember those glory pubescent Hip-Hop days where it’s entire soundtrack was built off of classic funk breaks…the show scores plenty more quality and relevance points with me. So please enjoy this mix of classic, funky, dancefloor bangers! The Get Down!

DOWNLOAD Recycled Funk 9

1. Kool & The Gang vs The Reflex – Bongle Joogie (mixed w/Bruno Mars – 24K Magic)
2. The Fatback Band – Goin’ to see my baby
3. James Brown – Baby here I come
4. Booker T. & The MG’s – Hip Hug Her
5. The Roots – Melting pot
6. Cymande – Brothers on the slide
7. Kool & The Gang – The gangs back
8. Willie Hutch – Brother’s gonna work it out (Joey Negro return of the mac mix)
9. Bobby Byrd – I’m coming
10. Uptown Funk Empire – Boogie
11. Rebirth – Evil vibrations
12. Trus’me – Trus’us (mixed w/Justin Timberlake – can’t stop)
13. Chaka Kahn – Fate (Todd Terje edit)
14. The Can – Vitamin C
15. Jimmy Ross – First true love affair (DJ Vas rework)
16. Jean Claude Gavi – Listen to the music
17. Dimitri from Tokyo – French Affair
18. Original Tropicana Steel Drum Band – Spanish hustle (Kon edit)
19. Chuck Brown – Bustin’ Loose (DJ Smash disco edit)

Discover more from Brooklyn Radio

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading