Subscribe to our Mixcloud channel to get offline listening and upfront tracklists.
Audio Texture

Audio Texture – September 14 2012

A soulful start to this weeks show with the nu-soul sounds of S3 aka Miles Bonny & Brenk Sinatra followed by jazzier, soulful strains of Jose James given an outstanding remix by Oddisee, look out for his album forthcoming soon on Blue Note. Homeboy Sandman then got busy over the mad breaks of ‘Sputnik’ before Kid Koala gave the term nu-blues a whole new twist. Things then took a darker, pysched up turn with ‘In The Dark’ by The Gaslamp Killer before Pop Levi rocked up with ‘Medicine’.

Romanian jazz is a bit of a minority sport to be quite honest but Sonar Kollektiv are trying to change that with their excellent genre compilation which has just seen the digital light of day and the killer sounds of Ion Baciu are testimony to the quality. We then couldn’t resist playing another slice of beat craftmanship from Praezisa Rapid 3000 as we love the album so much and they also get the track title of the day award with ‘Thin Air Bottled to Garbage Cans’. Now Daisuke Tanabe makes a lot of music that only gets released in Japan and it’s always a pleasure to check what’s he’s doing, this time on the remix of the really interesting new beat producer Monokle from the promising Ki Records label, the original cuts are great as well.

Ital Tek marches on with a new album on Planet Mu and we’re down with about half of it and the dramatic strains of ‘Intercruise’ are a particular highlight. Now the edits markets is overhyped and under quality but when you get Theo Parrish editing some great original material you know you are in trouble. Just listen to his twist of The Invisible’s ‘Generational’ and then go and buy the single when it drops as he also provides an epic 15 minute remix of the same track. With an Anna Calvi version of a different track, it really is one of the EPs of the year. God knows who U is but we are liking his, all too short, beat excursions that are forthcoming on Man Make Music which nicely led into a taster of Lukid’s killer new canine flavoured EP. More quality beats then followed as the Hot Flush unearthed strains of ‘Braille’ from new boys Shelter Point hit home. Rael then soundscaped the show’s ending to perfection and showcased the increasing quality of Nonine records output, hunt down the EP.

S3 – Don’t Stop (MPM promo)
Jose James – It’s All Over Your Body, Oddisee remix (Blue Note promo)
Homeboy Sandman – Sputnik (Stonesthrow)
Kid Koala – 11 Bit Blues (Ninja Tune)
The Gaslamp Killer – In The Dark (Brainfeeder)
Pop Levi – Medicine (Counter promo)
Ion Baciu – Nu Privi Inapoi (Sonar Kollektiv)
Praezisa Rapid 3000 – Thin Air Bottled To Garbage Cans (Noble)
Monokle – Swan, Daisuke Tanabe rmx (Ki Records promo)
Ital Tek – Intercruise (Planet Mu promo)
The Invisible – Generational, Theo Parrish Edit (Ninja Tune promo)
U – Eah (Man Make Music promo)
Lukid – The Dog Can Run (Werk promo)
Shelter Point – Braille (Hot Flush promo)
Rael – Dolphins At Home (Nonine promo)

Related Articles

Back to top button