Subscribe to our Mixcloud channel to get offline listening and upfront tracklists.
Audio Texture

Audio Texture – July 15, 2013


So this weeks show veered a bit towards the dark side with a few rays of musical sunshine thrown in for good measure with Paul White kicking things off and a further taste of his new Watch The Ants EP which should be due sometime very soon. The aptly named Heat Wave then ably displayed his kitchen sink approach to splicing rock, folk, hip hop, electronica and whatever else into listenable new wholes before David Lynch (yes that one) dropped his future blues into the show from his, better than I thought it would be, new album. Tall Black Guy then funked things up with his fresh imagining of one of the most sampled artists of all time, James Brown (but don’t tell anyone!)

Album of the week honours go to The-Drum’s, Contact, it really is a wonderful, multi-stylistic musical collage, stitched together with some fine beats and love for The Art of Noise. Things then got a bit bassline nasty with Commodo kicking things off with his driving, “A $pace Cash” before Alan Johnson got all rude bwoy on us which paved the way nicely for the twisted house sounds of up and coming talent rRoxymore before Alex Barck turned things round with some sweet, Afro soul and Slow Machete compounded the sweeter vibes with their sunshine mish mash, “Vie d’Esperance”

South London Ordnance then paired some sweet vocals from Brolin with some nice beats and bass as way of introduction to their new record label, Aery Metals before new project These Hidden Hands waded in with their heavy vibes which led nicely into Roel Funcken’s madcap beat making. Letherette with some help of a nice Bibio retouch then ended the show in fine style.


Paul White – Divining Rod (One Handed Music promo)
Heat Wave – It’s My World (Deep Tapes)
David Lynch – The Ballad Of Hollis Brown (Sacred Bones)
Tall Black Guy – The Big Payback Edit 1 (White)
The-Drum – Narco (Audraglint)
Commodo – A $pace Cash)
Alan Johnson – Goron Sound (Blank Mind)
rRoxymore – Gatsy (Human Level promo)
Alex Barck – Oh Africa feat Christine Salem (Sonar Kollektiv promo)
Slow Machete – Vie d’Eserance (SMTG)
South London Ordnance – Black Acre ft Brolin (Aery Metals)
These Hidden Hands – Ivy (Hidden Hundred)
Roel Funcken – Zink Blession (Eat Concrete)
Letherette – After Dawn, Bibio Remix (Ninja Tune promo)

Related Articles

Back to top button