Subscribe to our Mixcloud channel to get offline listening and upfront tracklists.
Audio Texture

Audio Texture – February 25 2013


Sublime deep house kicked off this weeks show courtesy of Isolee and the “Allowance” title track from their new EP which led nicely into the Max Sedgeley like tones of Inch-time and “Time Of The Fire” before Mara TK hit us with some spiritual vibes from way down or New Zealand to be precise. Neve Naive then kept the vibes deep but with a dark undertone before the sugary soul of Inc. cut in with “Angel” the highlight of their pleasant new album on 4AD.

Romare is a sample chopping don and his forthcoming EP on Black Acre fuses the vintage sounds of black America with some fresh beats which led sensibly into some unadulterated classic soul from the interestingly titled, Apple and The Three Oranges. Medline has been going from strength to strength in the last couple of years and MPM are assisting his ascent by releasing an album of his modern versions of soul jazz classics, look out for it, it’s killer start to finish as his version of “Red Clay” ably demonstrates.

Fujimoto Tetsuro then kept the soul vibes, albeit with a future twist, going which laid out the carpet for a little tropical selection kicking off with another Teleseen track from his, now released, debut album on 100% Silk and believe us when we say we could have played any track from the album, it really is that good. This led nicely into some Hip-Life vibes from King Ayisoba’s new album which in turn was followed by the welcome return of the Owiny Sigoma Band before Kamal Abdul Alim ended the show in fine, classic, jazzy style with “Brotherhood” taken from the new Kevin Beadle compilation on BBE.


Isolee – Allowance (Pampa)
Inch-time – Time Of The Fire (Mystery Play Records)
Mara TK – Run (On Gravity Records)
Neve Naive – Goodnight My Friend (Sonar Kollektiv promo)
Inc. – Angel (4AD)
Romare – Hey Now (Black Acre promo)
Apple & The Three Oranges – I’ll Give You A Ring (Now Again)
Medline – Red Clay (MPM promo)
Fujimoto Tetsuro – Puddle (Diskotopia)
Teleseen – The Cataract of Sound (100% Silk)
King Ayisoba – Africa (Makkum promo)
Owiny Sigoma Band – Owiny Techno (Brownswood promo)
Kamal Abdul Alim – Brotherhood (BBE promo)

Related Articles

Back to top button