#30thAnniversary – King Tee “Tha Triflin’ Album”

Probably the most underrated west coast emcee of all time, King Tee (aka King T) released the solid “Tha Triflin’ Album” early 1993. To give you an idea, The Notorious B.I.G. had supposedly named him as an early influence, and we can hear why in his voice and flow all over this record. On the beat side, after giving almost the entire production duty to DJ Pooh on the first two LP’s, Tee decided to be more hands on with the music and produced a couple of tracks himself, including the top notch second single “Black Togetha Again”, where he gets more political and lets out his frustrations over the police and corrupt system in general. Other beatmakers on the project includes DJ Aladdin, Bobcat, Marley Marl and the aforementioned DJ Pooh while the features come from Ice Cube, Deadly Threat, Nefretitti, Mad Kap and his own protégés, Tha Alkaholiks. This is King Tee’s last album on Capitol Records before a short stay at MCA, only to end up being one of the first signees on Dr. Dre’s Aftermath label and working on the legendary “2001” magnum opus.

Catch the album, videos and remixes from the 12″ singles below to celebrate the 30th anniversary of this lost jewel.

Full album on YouTube:

Stream on Spotify, Apple Music, Deezer & Tidal.


  • I Got It Bad Y’all
  • Black Togetha Again


  • Got It Bad Y’all (Remix)
  • Got It Bad Y’all (Funky Piano Mix)
  • Black Togetha Again (L.A. Zuu Mix)
  • Black Togetha Again (Marley Marl Remix)

Discover more from Brooklyn Radio

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading