Subscribe to our Mixcloud channel to get offline listening and upfront tracklists.
Audio Texture

Audio Texture Radio: April 6th

An unrepentantly electronic selection is the order of this weeks show with Dean McPhee kicking things off with a long meandering electroacoustic adventure from the Son Of The Black Peace album before the prolific Me Raabenstein drops the abstract beatscape ‘Jabbering and Jam’. A deep future Afroelectronic experiment then seemed fitting from the Damon Albarn led DRC Music project, pieced together deep in Kinshasa with a load of local musicians and a fine roster of western producers.

A little Project Mooncircle section then seemed appropriate as they are putting out a load of beat tapes (as in actual tapes) with a few new artists that I’m happy to now know about. Vienna boy Szenario kicked things off with ‘Shy’ before Krakow native Good Paul fed us electronic dreams. Ninja new boy and sample fiend Hot Sugar then gatecrashed the PMC party but brought the right flavoured beats before tagging South Carolina homey Kwala. To finish off the Mooncircle love in we had to drop another track from the excellent Rumpistol/Red Baron album coming to all good record stores soon.

A little mish mash mix up took care of the second half of the show kicking off with the deep dub stylings of Deadbeat & Daniel Tate which led nicely into an Osunalde Palenque remix from the excellent Jende Ri Palenge comp on Soul Jazz. If deep bassline beats are your flavour then make sure you check the forthcoming Bass Clef album soon to drop on Punch Drunk. We then dropped a new remix of Trus’me and said a warm welcome back to the Prime Numbers label, it has seemed like ages. Tennis, with some great vocals from Fink, then injected the soul vibes before we gave you a little taster from the exciting new album from Dave Aju which is currently on repeat at Audio Texture HQ.

Dean McPhee – Golden Bridge (Blast First Petite)
Me Raabenstein – Jabbering and Jam (Nonine)
DRC Music – Ah Congo featuring Jupiter Bokondji & Bokatola System (Warp)
Szenario – Shy (Project Mooncircle promo)
Good Paul – Midnight With Tatoo Girl (Project Mooncircle)
Hot Sugar – Coconut Powder (Ninja Tune promo)
Kwala – Sail The Wooden Horse feat Roof Light (Project Mooncircle)
Rumpistol/Red Baron – Anywhere (Project Mooncircle promo)
Deadbeat & Daniel Tate – Lazy Jane (Blkrtz promo)
Curramberos De Gamero – La Preña, Osunlade’s Yoruba Soul mix (Soul Jazz)
Bass Clef – Hackney-Chicago-Jupiter (Punch Drunk promo)
Trus’me – Good God, Norman Nodge Dub (Prime Numbers promo)
Tennis – Make It Good (Life and Death promo)
Dave Aju – Rise (Circus Company promo)

Related Articles

Back to top button