Subscribe to our Mixcloud channel to get offline listening and upfront tracklists.
Audio Texture

Audio Texture – October 21, 2013


A nice soulful selection in a roundabout sort of way this week, a week when Boards of Canada have been releasing their back catalogue for all those slow on the draw the first time around. The new Om Unit album on Civil Music is a pleasant surprise with it’s pleasing musicality and some nice vocal touches, ably demonstrated by “The Road” featuring Charlie Dark. Some future hip hop then followed from Thriftworks and a track we plucked from the excellent new Project Mooncircle compilation showcasing artists new and old before The Poets of Rhythm reminded the show of their soul credentials.

Talking of soul and specifically nu-soul, the new Reggie B album has just dropped with some fine beats and great vocals, check it out on Tokyo Dawn Records. We couldn’t help dropping a small taste of the dependable and wonderfully named Seasick Steve’s new album before heading into global soul territory first with Da Lata and “Deixa” from their new album and then with Quantic and his new vocal hookup Nidia Gongora, lovely.

Things then got deep and house like kicking off with Simon Garcia AKA The Blaxploited Orchestra and some simple but hypnotising vibes before Paskal & Urban Absolutes chipped in with a great slo-mo soulful cut. Ulrich Troyer then provided the deep twisted dub before new kid on the block Hubie Davison delivered the goods with the excellent “I Won’t be There” from his soon to be released debut EP on Leisure System. The show finished with some Space Dimension Controller to celebrate the 30th anniversary of electronic music institution R&S Records, an achievement, we’re sure, not too many of today’s labels will be emulating.

Boards of Canada – Reach For The Dead (Warp)
Om Unit – The Road featuring Charlie Dark (Civil Music promo)
Thriftworks – Die Gracefully ft DH the Mythicalifornian (Project Mooncircle promo)
The Poets of Rhythm – Smilin’ While You’re Crying (Daptone promo)
Reggie B – Love’s The Way feat Kan Sano (Tokyo Dawn)
Seasick Steve – Hope (Third Man)
Da Lata – Deixa feat Jandira Silva (Agogo)
Quantic and Nidia Gongora – Nanguita (Tru-Thoughts)
The Blaxploited Orchestra – The Pursuit (Compost Disco promo)
Paskal & Urban Absolutes – Take The Fall feat Pete Josef (Sonar Kollektiv promo)
Ulrich Troyer – Deadlock, Melodica Version (4 Bit Productions promo)
Hubie Davison – I Won’t Be There (Leisure System promo)
Space Dimension Controller – The Love Quadrant (R&S)

Related Articles

Back to top button