Subscribe to our Mixcloud channel to get offline listening and upfront tracklists.
Audio Texture

Audio Texture – January 27, 2014


So this weeks show is one to sit back and sink into rather than preparation for lively night out, there just seems to be a lot of great downtempo music about this year. The first of two Max Graef tracks taken from his nice album, Rivers Of The Red Planet, kicked things off before the first of two cuts from the excellent modern day spiritual jazz album from the Yatha Bhuta Jazz ComboBen Kraiem then came through with “Figurine” from an excellent collective project consisting of ladies from Tunisia, Libya and Egypt combining with some hot production talent to sing and rap against corruption, discrimination and injustice.

The start of the shows ambient leaning section was initiated by a taste of the newStephen Vitiello & Molly Berg album from our favourite home ambient champions,12K before Raz Ohara kept the vibe rolling with a sprawling track from his great newMoksha album. Walrus Ghost then lazily picked up the baton to provide a glimpse into their, also excellent, forthcoming album Uplifting Themes From The Naysayeravailable on Project Mooncircle on Valentines day. Norwegian experimentalist Lasse Passage then provided some jazz folk twists before Bibio‘s, “The Spinney View Of Hinckley Point” rounded off the horizontal selections for this week.

Another deep jazz cut from Yatha Bhuta Jazz Combo then stirred the show from its slumber and paved the way fro Titts‘ chopped and screwed bassline vibes, which led nicely into some submerged soul from Actress, closely followed by quality beats from Barcelona based Fitzroy North, snagged from his soon to come EP on Tiburoni. We then couldn’t help but drop some more Max Graef before the wonderfully deep and soulful new “Mike Black” track from Mo Kolours which bodes well for his album, dropping sometime this year. Segilola then provided some great deep UK urban soul before Cell Broco gave the show some club bump. Dego and Kaidi then rounded the show off in fine broken style.

Max Graef – Jazz 104 (Tartelet promo)
Yatha Bhuta Jazz Combo – The Time Is Now (All City)
Nawel Ben Kraiem – Figurine (Jakarta promo)
Stephen Vitiello & Molly Berg – Baritone Final (12K promo)
Raz Ohara – Sungaze (Album Label)
Walrus Ghost – Seventwentyone (Project Mooncircle promo)
Lasse Passage – The Lightness Of Moving On (Eat Concrete)
Bibio – The Spinney View Of Hinkley Point (Warp)
Yatha Bhuta Jazz Combo – 360 (All City)
Titts – Raccoon (Rwina)
Actress – Rap (Werkdiscs/Ninja)
Fitzroy North – In Yer Face feat. Son House (Tiburoni promo)
Max Graef – Buchsenoffner (Tartelet promo)
Mo Kolours – Mike Black (One Handed Music)
Segilola – Paint The Way (King Deluxe)
Cell Broco – Don’t Change (Big Dada)
Dego & Kaidi – Carrotsesame (Eglo)

Related Articles

Back to top button