Subscribe to our Mixcloud channel to get offline listening and upfront tracklists.
Audio Texture

Audio Texture – February 10, 2014


Xtrngr from the excellent Mad Hop Bandcamp compilation got the show rolling in atmospheric style before “Secret Garden” from Snow Ghosts, a curve ball, from the normally club orientated Houndstooth label, kept the dreamy vibe but added some lovely vocals and paved the way for more of the same from the very talented Otti Albietz, fresh on BBE Records. We then dug out some Forest Swords from last year to add some leftfield dub flavour to procedings which set the show up nicely for “Love Theme From Foreverness“, the mellowest cut from the nice new Illumsphere album out now on Ninja Tunes.

More deep twisted dub was then provided by Downliners Sekt and bodes really well for their forthcoming album on Infine, bring it on is all we can say. 52 Commercial Roadthen provided some melodic post rock to procedings before Michael Kiwanuka waded in with this trade mark throwback soul vibes. We liked Reggie B‘s “Addictive” tune from his album so much we were even excited to get the 12″ instrumental last week from the ever consistent Tokyo Dawn crew and thought we’d drop it again to celebrate volume 4 of their excellent The Boogie compilation series.

Next up was Dead Heat with some fine slo-mo house business before Dead Heat dubbed up the show once more with one of the deeper cuts from his great new EP soon to drop on Infinite MachineWerkha then came through with some great chopped up soulful beats before Awanto 3‘s, soon to be immense on every discerning dancefloor, “Su What?” dropped – wow, what a tune! Clap! Clap! then kept the twisted Afro vibes rolling before Revolution Francaise completed this weeks selection in fine disco style, courtesy of the nice French boys, Favourite Recordings.


Xtrngr – Return (Mad Hop)
Snow Ghosts – Secret Garden (Houndstooth promo)
Otti Albietz – It’s Nice To Feel Alive (BBE promo)
Forest Swords – Thor’s Stone (Tri Angle)
Illum Sphere – Love Theme from Foreverness (Ninja Tune)
Downliners Sekt – Silent Ascent (Infine promo)
52 Commercial Road – Midnight Mass (A Future Without)
Michael Kiwanuka – You’ve Got Nothing To Lose (Third Man promo)
Reggie B & Leonard D’stroy – Addictive, 12″ Instrumental (Tokyo Dawn promo)
Dead Heat – Bosco (Life and Death)
Beaka – Timelapse (Infinite Machine promo)
Werkha – Lapwing (Tru Thoughts promo)
Awanto 3 – Su What? (Rush Hour promo)
Clap! Clap! – Elon Mentana (Black Acre promo)
Revoltuion Francaise – Translocomotion (Favourite)

Related Articles

Back to top button