Subscribe to our Mixcloud channel to get offline listening and upfront tracklists.
Audio Texture

Audio Texture – April 8 2013


Quite a soulful vibe this week, kicking off with one of two tracks in the show from Omar and his wonderful remake of his 1990 classic “There’s Nothing Like This” taken from his new EP The Man which is boding very well indeed for the album. A sensitive Taylor McFerrin remix of “Come To My Door” from Jose James then followed before a hatrick of modern soul classics was completed by Sweatson Klank’s “Morning After Pills” from his, now available, album on Project Mooncircle. Jazz was then the order of the day with the opening track from Kevin Beadle’s stellar compilation, Private Collection, out on BBE Records.

Raffertie then kept the soul but darkened the atmosphere with a taste of his new material which led nicely into a tasty Deadbeat dub of The Orb & Lee Scratch Perry before Alight headed off into electronic realms to celebrate the launch of the new A Future Without website and hopefully some more releases from this interesting cottage label. Now we like a good cover and the Bachar Mar-Khalife is just that, Serge Gainsbourg would have been proud of his version of “Machins Choses”, house heads should look out for the half decent Ewan Pearson remix of same track.

Big Mister Doom have just gone from strength to strength and their new Disconnected Repeater EP on Fremdtunes is a lovely, simple but effective, future soulful affair with iET providing some lovely vocals on our pick of the tracks “Anybody Out There”. This led nicely into a modern boogie trio kicking off with the lovely future soul flavour of Pomrad whose new EP has just dropped on Earnest Endeavours. Roux Spana then kept the vibes rolling and provided a nice taster of the new Heavenly Sweetness, Digging The Blogosphere Vol. 2 comp before we dropped the title track from Omar’s “The Man” EP which is set to be played at every discerning soul club forever more. Vondelpark then just dropped their dreamy new album and we are particularly liking the Balearic vibes of “Analog Dream” before Owiny Sigoma closed the show in a dubby Afro style.


Omar – There’s Nothing Like This feat Pino Palladino (Freestyle promo)
Jose James – Come To My Door, Taylor McFerrin Remix (Blue Note promo)
Sweatson Klank – Morning After Pills feat Anna Wise (Project Mooncircle)
Peter Ogiger’s Family Of Percussion and Archie Shepp – Here Comes The Family (BBE)
Raffertie – Benediction (Ninja Tune)
The Orb feat. Lee Scratch Perry – Ball Of Fire, Deadbeat NYAH Dub (Cooking promo)
Alight – Taliska (A Future Without promo)
Bachar Mar-Khalife – Machins Choses feat. Kid A (Infine promo)
Big Mister Doom – Anybody Out There feat iET (Fremdtunes promo)
Pomrad – Summerscent (Earnest Endeavours)
Roux Spana – 7th Week, We’re Almost There (Heavenly Sweetness promo)
Omar – The Man (Freestyle promo)
Vondelpark – California Analog Dream (R&S)
Owiny Sigoma Band – Nyiduonge Drums (Brownswood)

Related Articles

Back to top button