Subscribe to our Mixcloud channel to get offline listening and upfront tracklists.
Audio Texture

Audio Texture – March 25 2013


The beautiful voice of Joyce was a great start to this weeks mixed bag of musical goodies and bodes well for her album about to drop on Far Out. This was then followed by one of the more accessible cuts from The Natural Yogurt Band spin off, The Sign Of Four’s, new album due soon on Jazzman. We were very happy this week to receive a little taste of Jono McCleery’s new material on Ninja, this time with a slightly more overtly electronic edge and none the worse for it, as we are sure you will agree. Graciela Maria then paved the way for a little reggae section with her distinctive vocals and perhaps the least cheerful song title of this year so far, “Flowers For My Silent Death”.

Tapes led the reggae charge with some deep digi-dub vibes before we dropped three tunes in a row from the latest of the Wackies back catalogue to get digitally reissued – we just hope there is more to come. Now King L Man is an uncompromising figure, living on a small island in the middle of the Atlantic but he has cooked up some deep, dark, dub techno fusion with that rare thing, some substantial, yet soulful, lyrical content as well, we look forward to checking out what else he has in store.

A trio of bassline beats then ensued with the most structured track of the new James Ferraro material before A/T/O/S, with the help of a deep Commodo twist, kept the vibe flowing before hot new French talent VECT took Alex Barck’s house cut into more abstract, interesting territory. Now Chet Faker is getting a lot of press recently and we are particularly liking his live version of “No Diggity” which segued well into the opening track from the new Bonobo album, which due to some plum in an Australian radio station leaking early, is now available in an attempt to salvage some sales. DMX Krew then laid down the bumpy, funky, electro house before the killer Mount Kimbie freeload, “Made To Stray” concluded the show in great, future house, style.


Joyce – Moreno (Far Out promo)
The Sign Of Four – Mirage (Jazzman promo)
Jono McCleery – Painted Blue (Ninja Tune promo)
Graciela Maria – Flowers For My Silent Death (Project Mooncircle promo)
Tapes – Pipe Cleaner (Jahtari)
Jerry Johnson – Zion Rock (Wackies)
Jah I Maz – Freedom Is A Must (Wackies)
Don “Jah” Carlos – Black Harmony (Wackies)
King L Man – Vultures’ Bazaar feat Earl 16 (Unreleased)
James Ferraro – Powder (Hippos In Tanks)
A/T/O/S – A Taste Of Struggle, Commodo Mix (Deep Medi)
Alex Barck – Atmosphere, VECT remx (Sonar Kollektiv promo)
Chet Faker – No Diggity, Live (Free Download)
Bonobo – First Fires feat Grey Reverend (Ninja Tune)
DMX Krew – Honeydew (Breakin Records)
Mount Kimbie – Made To Stray (Warp Free Download)

Related Articles

Back to top button